Detoxing Mocktail

I don’t think I’ve ever posted a drink as a recipe and didn’t think I ever would. Maybe a smoothie, but that’s more a snack or meal rather than simply a drink. 

The one I mixed up today though needed to be posted.

Image

I call it a Detoxing Mocktail but it’s really a “I Better Not Get the Flu Preventative Drink.” I’m very afraid of contracting the flu this season since I’ve heard it’s really bad and I spend a lot of time touching things many hands have touched (aka, the gym). While I got a flu shot, I’m not entirely trusting. I also seem to usually get sick in the winter time and I’m in general, susceptible to things I shouldn’t get (…last year at this time I got mono..for the 3rd time). 

This drink has a ton of benefits..and it tastes good. 

Apple Cider Vinegar: helps with digestion, has potassium, helps sore throats, balances pH levels (from here and more on apple cider vinegar)
Green tea: controls blood sugar, may prevent cancer, speeds up metabolism, may help prevent illness (more on green tea)
Ginger: Can aid in helping nausea, coughing, sore throats, digestion (for more on ginger, see this link)

You’ll Need:
Pre-brewed and chilled green tea 
Lemon sparkling water
Fresh ginger
Apple cider vinegar
Stevia (optional)

To Make:

Fill a shaker bottle/cocktail shaker with ice. 

Mix one part green tea with two parts water. 

Add a splash of vinegar (less than a teaspoon) and finely grate in about 1/4 teaspoon of fresh ginger.

If using stevia, add in one to two drops of liquid stevia or a pinch of granulated. 

Shake well for 30 seconds and pour into a glass. Drink while chilled. 

One thought on “Detoxing Mocktail

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday | A Simple Spoon

Leave a Reply

