Spicy Sweet Stir-Fry

As I sit to write this, it’s 4:54 p.m. and I’m eating my dinner. For anyone who says eating early dinner is wrong, well, I don’t want to be right. I’d be willing to say there’s lots of us hungry people that sit from 4:30-5:30 or even 6:00 waiting until it’s appropriate to eat something and call it a meal. Those people can join me on the quest to make anytime dinner time. Maybe not anytime, but anytime after 4:30 or when it’s close enough to 5.

I’ve actually eaten the same dinner for the last week and a half. This almost never happens because I generally get insanely bored eating the same thing over and over. Case and point: different flavors of oats every day make it seem like something fresh and new.

I’m usually not even a stir-fry person but jeez, this one has knocked my socks off. There’s so many flavors and it’s warm and comforting with a little kick of spice. It’s also incredibly versatile. Like any stir-fry, add what you have. Except the sweet potato. Keep that–trust me. Putting the sweet potato at the bottom allows it to absorb all the sauce and warm up and makes every bite a little better.

There’s no photo because I do not for the life of me know how to take a good picture of something messy in a bowl but when I do (maybe when I make this again..tomorrow) I’ll add one.

Spicy Sweet Stir-Fry

1/2 cup frozen (or fresh) broccoli
6 frozen asparagus spears, broken in half
1/4 cup shredded carrots
1 cup chopped kale
1/2 cup baby spinach
1 baked sweet potato, skin on (put this in the fridge before hand or make it the night before so it’s cold)
1 piece cooked chicken/serving of any kind of meat you desire, or have it vegetarian style
1-2 tablespoons sriacha
1-2 tablespoons liquid aminos
1 tablespoon peanut flour (optional but encouraged +1 teaspoon peanut butter)
1/2-3/4 cups water
Chili powder, paprika, salt, pepper, cinnamon

Add the spinach, kale, asparagus, broccoli and carrots to a deep pan and turn onto medium heat. Pour the water over the vegetables. There should be enough water to cover the bottom of the pan.

Cover with a lid and steam for 3 minutes.

Cut up meat if adding and add it to the pan. Put lid on for another minute.

Drizzle sriacha and aminos over vegetables, and sprinkle with peanut flour and spices except cinnamon. If using peanut butter, add to the middle of the pan. Stir everything up.

Allow mixture to cook for another 3 minutes or so.

Cut cold sweet potato in half and put in the bottom of a bowl. Mash and sprinkle with cinnamon. Remove pan from heat and pour over sweet potato.

Let it rest for 1 minute, then dig in.

3 thoughts on “Spicy Sweet Stir-Fry

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday | A Simple Spoon

  2. Pingback: Puffed Chocolate Bark | A Simple Spoon

  3. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday | A Simple Spoon

Leave a Reply

