Mocha Oatmeal

I took a break away from my computer this weekend when I traveled home for a few days. From Thursday til Monday afternoon, I was laptop less and it was very freeing. While I still had my phone, not wasting time playing around on different sites definitely allowed me to enjoy other things and not worry about what I was missing.

***

I’ve mentioned here before that when it comes to food, I am all about volume, especially at breakfast. A few weeks ago, I was perusing a favorite blog, Chocolate Covered Katie, when I remembered she had a volumeous oat trick that I had never tried.

Essentially, you add double the amount of liquid to your oats, cook about halfway, then let them sit overnight to absorb the rest of the liquid. Usually I do this with water for some super fluffy oatmeal but when I was brewing a pot of coffee yesterday afternoon, the idea to throw it into my oats seemed like a good one–and it was. This breakfast is extremely filling and almost tastes like a decadent dessert.

mocha oatmeal

Mocha Oatmeal:

You’ll Need:

1/4 cup rolled oats (not quick oats)
A little less than 1/4 cup oat bran (or you could use all oat bran/all oatmeal)
3/4 cup water
3/4 cup brewed coffee
1 Tbl. dark chocolate unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 packet stevia
1/2 cup grated zucchini
3 egg whites
1/2 a banana (sliced)

For the topping:
1 tsp. cocoa powder
1 tsp. peanut flour
Sprinkle of stevia
2-3 teaspoons of coffee (until you can drizzle the sauce)

In a pot, combine the oats, oat bran, coffee and water. Cook on low to medium heat for about 5 minutes or until about half of the liquid is absorbed. Let sit for five minutes, stir, and put into an uncovered bowl in the fridge overnight (or for at least a few hours).

The next morning, put your oatmeal into a pan over medium heat again. There should still be liquid, if not, add a little water (no more than 1/4 cup). Add zucchini, half the sliced banana, cocoa powder and stevia and cook as you would normally, stirring occasionally.

While the oats are cooking, prepare your sauce by mixing peanut flour, cocoa powder, stevia and coffee until it is thin enough to be drizzled.

When almost all of the liquid in the oatmeal is absorbed, pour in egg whites while constantly stirring and stir until they are incorporated. Continue to cook oatmeal, stirring every 20 seconds or so, for another two to three minutes to allow eggs to cook and the remainder of the liquid to be absorbed.

Remove from heat and pour into a bowl. Allow it to sit for 1 minute. Add remaining banana slices to the top and drizzle with sauce. Sprinkle with extra peanut flour if desired.

Leave a Reply

