Cauliflower Protein Pancakes

Sorry for the absence.

This week has been my first crazy one in grad school that was filled with a very long and tedious first draft of an article as well as a big presentation.  At least both are over, but I of course still have the final draft to finish and a midterm early next week to study for! All the big assignments always come at once. So stressful.

When I’m stressed is actually when I do the most cooking. Going to the grocery store and making food to enjoy for a few minutes definitely relaxes me for a bit.

Last week I bought a cauliflower solely for the reason that I was craving cauliflower pizza so I ended up having a TON left. After including some florets in a few meals, I decided to rice the whole thing up to have on hand for some cauliflower fried rice, a cauliflower and zucchini pancake and real pancakes.

Yes, I put cauliflower into pancakes and I will do it again, and ask you to do the same. So fluffy, moist and definitely filling. This picture shows two but it actually made three–I snuck one before taking a picture to taste test.

Pancakes

Cauliflower Protein Pancakes (Makes 3 pancakes)
You’ll Need:

1/3 cup riced cauliflower (put it in your food processor until it’s in tiny pieces)
1/2 Tablespoon coconut flour
1/2 scoop protein powder
1 egg
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. stevia (or sweetener of choice)
Approx. 2 Tablespoons water/milk of choice
Oil/Spray for cooking

In a bowl, mix everything but the liquid.
Slowly add water or milk until the batter smooths out a little but is still thick. It should be a little thicker than regular pancake batter.

Heat a pan over low heat and spray with cooking spray or swirl oil around.

Put a dollop of pancake batter into the hot pan and spread out a little into desired size. Cook as you would a regular pancake, about 3 minutes, when bubbles start to form, flip and cook for another 2-3 minutes until done.

Keep pancakes on a warm plate in the oven while you make the rest. Top with your desired pancake toppings.

3 thoughts on “Cauliflower Protein Pancakes

  1. I’m in grad school too. Next week is going to be a hectic one for me with 4 papers, a 40 minute presentation, and 3 assignments to grade. I love your recipes! I can’t wait to try this one. I recently made mashed cauliflower to substitute mashed potatoes and will be posting the recipe soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

