Portobello Pizza

I’ve been in a cooking mood lately. Probably because it’s rained every day for the last 3 days and that usually gives off the “stay in the warm house and make things” vibe. 

Let me break something to you: I don’t like pizza. In fact, it is one food I could honestly care less about [*****unless it is mashed potato bacon pizza from a place near me at home. exception to the general rule]. I guess this probably makes me un-American or something (..the irony) but I’m just not a fan. I like the sauce, cheese and toppings part and the crust but I would prefer them separately. Give me some sauce and cheese on a plate with a side of crust, yea, I’d probably enjoy that.

The big portobello mushrooms called to me at the grocery store the other night and the first thing I thought to do with them was make them into pizzas. In my head I figured it could be eaten like one: sliced and bitten in to, I was wrong though. This one needs a knife and a fork. 

Image

(The first night I put some chicken sausage on top of the mushroom and the second served some chicken up on the side for some protein)

Portobello Pizza (Makes 1):
You’ll Need:
1 portobello mushroom
About 3/4 cup of chopped frozen spinach (could use fresh too)
1/4 cup tomato sauce 
1/4 cup mozzarella cheese
Protein/Extra toppings of choice–cook ahead of time

To Make:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Wash your portobello and pull out any remaining stem. 

Put in a baking dish (important: juices will run out) and top with spinach, then sauce. 

Bake for 20 minutes. 

Remove from oven and top with cheese and your choice of toppings. 

Bake for another 10-5 minutes or until cheese is melty and mushroom is soft.

If you want, sprinkle with your normal pizza toppings, plate it up and enjoy! 

One thought on “Portobello Pizza

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday | A Simple Spoon

Leave a Reply

