Crazy Creamy Oat Bran

A few years ago, I would have never considered myself an oatmeal person. I wasn’t a fan at.all. My mom always makes them with water which makes them a little sticker and a bit flatter than making them with milk. Now that I like oats, this is okay, but I definitely still love a creamy texture and I’m all about volume. 

I recently discovered oat bran as a breakfast alternative to oatmeal and I am smitten. Not only is it a perfect breakfast because of the slow digesting carbs and a ton of fiber, it’s pretty versatile like oatmeal and is definitely fluffy.

If you haven’t noticed, I’m also a fan of throwing all my foods together in a bowl or on a plate. I don’t know why–I just love everything mixed. So, I’ve been making this breakfast every day for the last two weeks now. It incorporates the carbohydrate (oat bran) with the protein (eggs) and a vegetable (zucchini/pumpkin), a bit of fat (peanut butter) and some dairy (cottage cheese). All the layers of the food pyramid right there (essentially). 

Image

Crazy Creamy Oat Bran:

You’ll Need:

1 cup water
1/3 cup oat bran
1/3 of a small zucchini peeled and shredded
1 tbsp. pumpkin puree
2 egg whites 
Cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice 
1 tbsp. cottage cheese 
1 tbsp. PB2/regular peanut butter/almond butter

To Make: 
Add water, sprinkle of cinnamon and a sprinkle of pumpkin pie spice to a small pot and boil over medium heat.

Add oat bran and stir until no clumps remain. Add in zucchini and pumpkin and stir to incorporate. 

Stir every few seconds while the mixture cooks.
When the whole thing begins to boil and there is no visible water, stir while pouring in the egg whites. Continue stirring while the egg tries to set and until there is no visible raw egg. 

Cook for another 2-3 minutes, stirring often. 

Remove from heat and stir in cottage cheese. 

Pour into a bowl and top with peanut butter and extra cinnamon if desired. 

Enjoy! 

5 thoughts on “Crazy Creamy Oat Bran

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday | A Simple Spoon

  2. Pingback: Mocha Oatmeal | A Simple Spoon

  3. Pingback: Puffed Chocolate Bark | A Simple Spoon

  4. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday | A Simple Spoon

Leave a Reply

