Pumpkin Spiced Granola

If someone created a food that totally does not match pumpkin, I would probably eat it anyway. I think I’ve gone through like, 5 cans in the past few weeks. I add pumpkin to everything: oatmeal, yogurt, smoothies. I also have a million pumpkin things in my house right now including but not limited to ice cream and biscotti. The only problem is that I CANNOT find pumpkin m&ms. Apparently it’s a Target thing only but the three Target’s I’ve been to haven’t had them. Can’t a girl get some pumpkin m&m’s around here?!

I bought some Trader Joes pumpkin granola the other day and while it’s good, I often prefer to snack on granola of my own making for a little less sugar, well, I guess just a little piece of mind that I made it.

Image

Granola is one of those things that is super simple but always seems like a pain to make, or at least for me it does. I think it’s the mixing. I also always add chocolate chips too early and they melt making it more chocolately than chippy. Nothin’ wrong with that though.

Pumpkin Spiced Granola
You’ll Need:

2 cups old fashioned oats
1/4 cup raisins
1/3 cup almonds (I used whole because that’s what I had but slivered works too)
1/3 cup chopped pecans
1/4 cup pumpkin seeds (pepitas)
1/4 cup pumpkin puree
2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
3/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/8 tsp. ground ginger (I just shook a few shakes)
Pinch of salt
1 packet stevia
3.5 tbsp. coconut oil
1 tbsp.+ 1 tsp. honey
1 tsp. vanilla
Optional but suggested additions: dark chocolate chips and unsweetened coconut flakes

To Make:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients.

Melt coconut oil over low heat and stir in honey and vanilla.
Pour over dry ingredients and mix using a rubber spatula.

Pour onto a baking sheet and spread into a thin layer.

Bake for 30 minutes, mixing every 10 so the edges do not get burned.

When browned, remove from oven and place a heavy pan on top of the granola *I used a pan with a cast iron skillet on top*
Once the granola is cool enough to touch, clump with your hands.

Let cool then mix in chocolate chips and coconut.

Enjoy with your choice of milk, on top of yogurt or oatmeal or straight from the jar!

Image

Leave a Reply

