When Good Becomes Bad

I have preached over and over again on this blog that I don’t believe in diets. I believe in lifestyle changes and choices that make up the diet you eat but “diets” have a beginning and an end. Eating should not have that.

When I switched to being Paleo, I quickly realized that I felt like I was on a diet in the truest form of the word. I gave up fruit, nuts and seeds in addition to the grains, legumes and sugar. At first, this wasn’t a problem but lately, it has become one.

Trying to lean out by being Paleo has given me a disordered look at eating that I am currently trying to combat.

Fruit is good for you, vegetables are good for you but lately, I am stuck in the thinking that apples have too much sugar and certain vegetables have too many carbohydrates.

This for me, or for anyone for that matter, is not good. It’s one thing to say I’m going to eat less carbs and less sugar and another thing to take out the nutritional value of certain food groups and items based on the macronutrients they have naturally.

It’s hard for me to get the words out in this post because I love following the Paleo way of eating, I really do. I have more energy and I feel like I’m fueling my body better, but in the past few weeks I’ve had nothing but problems.

After tracking my food online for a few days, I realized I was eating under 1,000 calories a day. The minimum amount anyone should be ingesting is 1,200 and that isn’t recommended. My 1,000 calories wasn’t what I would have guessed. I was eating full meals of protein, vegetables and fat but when actually laid out, I see this isn’t enough.

Last week, I wondered why I was lightheaded and felt sick all the time. Maybe because my body wasn’t receiving the fuel it needs, or even close. I was driving on empty without even realizing it.

What’s the point I am trying to make here? Listen to your body. Eat wholesome meals filled with the good stuff.

Yes, apples may have a lot of carbs or sugar but they’re also filled with vitamins.
Yes. peppers and carrots might have a lot of sugar but they’re filled with vitamins.

It gets easy to focus on the small, tiny parts of everything. The macros, the percentages, the grams but what’s most important is how you feel. No matter what.

Leave a Reply

