Dessert for Breakfast?

I’ve become an Instagram troll this week. Until I started following people I didn’t know personally (for recipes, etc.), I didn’t realize the power of seeing what posts your friends liked. By golly, it’s fantastic. I’ve found more recipes, a coconut butter company I placed an order from and some fitness Instagram accounts. The power of social media is definitely substantial.

While perusing through new accounts and photos, I found a simple recipe I had to try: Zeggs.  I had seen the idea of n’oatmeal before from a few Paleo blogs but zeggs was new. To be honest, the idea seemed a little weird to me at first. Then, a cold morning came and I was craving oatmeal. I decided to combine the fundamentals of both into a breakfast that feels too indulgent but is perfectly healthy and delicious. From now on, I think I’m going to call it Zorridge.

Zorridge

I know it looks like a bowl of mush but trust me when I tell you it tastes like chocolate pudding for breakfast.

Chocolate Zorridge

You’ll Need:

1/3 of a large zucchini, peeled and grated.
1/4 cup water
1 tablespoon canned pumpkin
2 tablespoons ground flax
2-3 eggs (today I did 2 whole eggs and 2 egg whites)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon unsweetened dark cocoa powder

Less than 1/4 cup coconut milk (or almond milk, regular milk, etc.) *optional but suggested*
Shredded coconut *optional but suggested*
Chocolate chia seed pudding *optional but suggested-this would need to be prepared the night before*

Begin by preparing everything as the process moves quite fast.

Crack the eggs into a bowl and add the vanilla extract. Beat eggs with a fork until combined. Put zucchini, pumpkin, flax, cocoa powder and cinnamon in another bowl.

In a pot over medium heat, bring the water to a boil.

Add the bowl with the zucchini and stir to combine everything. While stirring, pour in the eggs and continue to mix.

Continue stirring for approximately 4 to 5 minutes or until the mixture isn’t as wet and starts to boil. I sometimes put a lid on the pot for an extra minute to steam and ensure everything is cooked through. When the mix is puffy and no longer as wet, transfer to a bowl. If using optional ingredients, top with chia seed pudding, drizzle with milk and sprinkle with coconut.

Leave a Reply

