Pumpkin Pancakes (Paleo)

I wish the title bar in WordPress that the option to make numbers with powers because this recipe is also known as P(3)-P to the three. P cubed.

Last night I decided I wouldn’t set an alarm to wake up on this fine Saturday so I got to sleep later than usual.  A nice, lazy, weekend morning where I had not a care in the world. I was all set to make eggs as I do everyday but I was sick of eggs and the can of pumpkin was calling to me from the cabinet.

Since my house was chilly and fall-like I decided to go all out. I attempted a pumpkin latte, made these pumpkin pancakes and made a pumpkin smoothie bowl later in the morning for a snack. I have a mild pumpkin obsession all the time but today it got weird.

Pumpkin latte

These pancakes though? Ugh. The best Paleo pancakes I’ve ever made. They had taste, they didn’t break when flipped and they looked delicious. Perfection.

Pancakes

To Make:
Approximately 2 tablespoons canned pumpkin
1 egg
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 serving vanilla protein powder (I happened to have this on hand to use as a binder. I’ve made these with coconut flour before too. Usually about a tablespoon/a little less with a pinch of baking soda). **With the “binder” I add until the consistency is not runny but not too thick. About the wetness of regular pancake batter.
Coconut oil for frying
Coconut butter+ vanilla + cinnamon for topping

Turn oven on as low as possible and place a plate inside.

Mix the pumpkin, vanilla, cinnamon, binder of choice in a bowl until everything is well incorporated.

Heat up coconut oil in a frying pan. When it is hot, spoon a thin layer of the pancake batter into the pan. Cook approximately 2 minutes or until the sides begin to brown and the pancake starts forming small bubbles. Flip and cook another 2 minutes.

Put pancake on the warmed plate and repeat with all remaining pancake batter.

To top, melt coconut butter in a pan with a tiny drop of vanilla (optional). When melted, drizzle over pancakes. Sprinkle with cinnamon.

Dig in!

IMG_1258

One thought on “Pumpkin Pancakes (Paleo)

Leave a Reply

