Choc(olate) Full of Fat (Chocolate That’s Good for You)

Today was my first day of grad school. Three classes down. Bam. So far so good. One of my professors reminds me of my grandfather which is fun. I think we’re going to get along well. He also makes fun of people which is very amusing.

After attending my classes and walking back in between to eat lunch, I realized living in a city is probably the best thing my legs have ever had happen to them. I walk so, so much. Miles a day. By the end of this year, they’re going to be st-ro-ng. 

I’m probably going to need to eat more to compensate? Really though, this is my thinking.

As I sat here munching on my own chocolate today, I got to thinking about fat.

As a person living in the United States, especially as a former overweight person, the number one thing I always read and heard was to watch fat intake to lose weight.

“Too much fat is bad,” said the magazines, TV, websites, books and every other source out there (including nutritionists). 

Well, it turns out that some fats can actually be good and those fats are better than good, they’re great. 

Coconut oil and anything coconut comes somewhere near the top but olive oil and other fats are healthy too. 

I read on a forum today that fats should make up about 60% of the calories you eat a day when following Paleo. I definitely didn’t expect that.

In celebration, I ate all the rest of the chocolate even though I didn’t really mean to.

Make your own chocolate and get some extra healthy fats in every day!

You Need:

1/4 cup coconut oil

2 tablespoons 100% dark cocoa powder

1/8 to 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract

Optional but highly suggested:

Almond Butter

Coconut butter or manna

To Make:

Melt coconut oil on the stove over low heat. Stir in vanilla and cocoa powder.

When all cocoa is melted into the oil and combined, remove from heat and pour onto a wax lined pan. 

Swirl in coconut butter and almond butter if using.

Put in the freezer to harden. Break up into pieces when frozen and store in a container in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

