Easy Chicken and Vegetable Soup

Ever have one of those days where you just don’t feel well. Not sick, just not 100%. Maybe not even 80%. That’s how I felt today. I slept for almost 12 hours last night, didn’t feel like getting out of bed and just lazed around. At least I went for a run…and then cancelled my Crossfit appointment for later on.  I actually spent most of my day staring at this computer screen. Oh well. Sometimes we need to just sit around.

To combat my blah-feeling, I decided to try my hand at making soup. Since I’ve never made soup before, I started a little off, then called my mom who helped me come up with a solution. It came out delicious.

Kick the Blah Soup (also known as Easy Chicken and Vegetable Soup)

You Need:

3 stalks of celery, sliced up thin

1/2 yellow onion, diced

1/2 clove garlic finely sliced

2 large carrots (I used a few handfuls of carrot chips. If you can find those, I suggest them)

3 large handfuls of kale

1 cup of cooked chicken (I used leftover rotisserie chicken)

6 cups of water

Olive Oil

Salt, Pepper and Parsley Flakes

 

To Make:

In a skillet, heat up some olive oil and add all of the vegetables.  Cook until they turn soft and translucent.

Transfer veggies into a large pot and add water. Water measurements can be more or less depending on the size of the pot. It will reduce.

Liberally sprinkle with salt, pepper and parsley (probably around 1/2 tsp. each)

Turn pot to high and wait for it to boil. Once boiling, reduce heat to a simmer.

Simmer uncovered for one hour, add chicken and continue to simmer for at least another hour. Taste and add more spice to your preference.

Ladle yourself (and your family) a bowl and enjoy!

Soup freezes really well so save the leftovers or make extra to have on hand!

 

Leave a Reply

