Crockpot Chili

I’ve been kind of MIA for the last few days because I’ve been without internet. I’m possibly the worst packer/mover in the world. It’s taken me 3 trips to move my stuff and I’m not entirely sure why. My internet isn’t set up in my apartment yet (although it will be soon) so i’ve been stuck reading posts from my phone but not being diligent enough to write them from there.

I know, the title of this post is so original. Chili is such a boring word. Chili willy would’ve worked but it’s so hot out that it doesn’t.

I decided to make chili on a hot and humid day. It didn’t matter. It was delicious.

In other news, this is the first meal I’ve made in a crockpot that has come out perfect. I guess I need to buy one for my new house now.

Without further ado, 

Image 

Chili:

You Will Need:

3/4 lb grass-fed ground beef (or your favorite ground beef)

1 tsp. olive oil

1 green chili pepper 

1/4 red bell pepper

6oz. can organic tomato paste (make sure it’s just tomatoes)

14.5 oz can organic diced tomatoes (make sure it’s just tomatoes)

1.5 cloves garlic

1/2 a yellow onion

1. 5 Tablespoons spicy brown mustard 

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. chili powder (+ sprinkle for meat)

1 tsp. paprika

1 tsp. salt (+ sprinkle for meat)

1 tsp. pepper (+ sprinkle for meat)

A crockpot

Heat olive oil in a cast iron (or another kind) of skillet over medium high heat. Add beef and break up into small pieces. Season with a tiny bit of salt, pepper, chili powder. Cook all the way through, then remove from heat. 

Finely dice the onion, garlic and both types of peppers and add to the bowl of a crockpot. Add both cans to the bowl, then the meat. 

Season with the mustard and spices and stir.

Turn on the crockpot to high heat and forget about it for 4 hours. Come back and enjoy your delicious chili! 

Serving suggestion: I was feeling taco salad so I put my chili over a bowl of shredded lettuce and mixed it all together. The lettuce added great crunch! 

If you don’t have a crockpot, I’m sure this could be done in a large pot on the stove, over low/medium heat. Stir frequently to avoid burning though.

Leave a Reply

