Tuesday Thoughts

Tonight I made PaleOMG’s carrot pudding for a little something extra to add to dinner. Three whole carrots made their way into my stomach. It was that good and I have no shame. In other news, my calves are burning. Two WOD’s including tons of squats, then today’s of box jumps and wall balls. They.Are.Screaming.

I’m sitting here debating whether or not to eat a spoonful of Paleo Notella. Pro: It’s delicious. Con: I have to get up to get it.

I think for the first time ever the lazy in me might win.

In thinking about my Paleo Notella, I was thinking more about healthy desserts.

One of the things I’ve been struggling with the past few weeks is making the decision on whether or not to make some Paleo goodies every now and then (obviously the Paleo Notella recipe shows some of my thought…).

Taking away sugar, grains and dairy in the last few weeks has been great. My skin is clearer, I definitely have extra energy and I have seen definite improvement in the looks of my stomach.  After almost a month, I don’t even miss these food items. Really and truly.

But, what if I do want to eat a cookie? Well, then I can pull out the almond flour, vanilla and coconut oil. I want some whipped cream, so I can easily pull out a can of coconut milk.

The problem lies that making these items goes against the principles originally set: that we should eat the food cavemen ate. They certainly didn’t throw some coconut milk in a Kitchenaid and enjoy over a warm baked, almond flour cookie.

It also makes it difficult to see these items as treats. When something is made without sugar, flour and any of the other things it’s normally prepared with, it’s easy to get caught up in the fact that they are “healthy” or “healthier.”

So where do I stand? In relation to my previous posts on percentages and stuff, I believe that making the occasional goodie to fit your dietary requirements is needed. It can be healthy, as long as it’s viewed as a treat despite the fact that it’s made out of delicious ingredients. It is important to feel included sometimes or just satisfy a craving for something sweet and/or tasty.

Many people that follow dietary restrictions are against this philosophy but I think that is just another reason choosing your own diet is so great. You choose what to put into your body. If you don’t like it, you don’t have to.

Leave a Reply

