Notella

While perusing through some new blogs the other day, I found a recipe on Civilized Caveman that really drew me in. Paleo Nutella.

Confession: There has never been Nutella consumed in my house. My mother has never purchased a jar and I didn’t even have my first taste until 2 years ago when my cousin was like, “whattttt you’ve NEVER had NUTELLA?!”. She was 7 and I was 20 so I had to get on that.

I was craving something creamy and decadent so I knew I had to make this as an everyday, ahem, occasional treat.

I modified the recipe a bit to fit my needs and I am in love with the result.

Image

Notella: (modified slightly from the original version posted here.)

You’ll Need:

1/2 to 3/4 cup of full fat coconut milk (from a can)

1 cup roasted hazelnuts (simply throw them in an oven for 5-8 minutes to roast)

2 Tbs. unsweetened dark cocoa powder (100% cocoa)

1/2 tsp. honey

1/4 tsp. vanilla

Sprinkle of salt

 

To Make:

In a food processor, blend hazelnuts until they are chopped up and relatively smooth.

Slowly pour in 1/2 cup coconut milk as the mixture continues to blend.

Stop processor and add cocoa, vanilla, salt and honey. 

Process again and add in up to another 1/4 cup of coconut milk. Add milk until it is smooth and creamy.

Remove from processor and eat with a spoon. Or on top of things. Whichever you prefer.

One thought on “Notella

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Thoughts | Spreading the Wellth

Leave a Reply

