Morning Glory Pancakes

Let me begin by saying, yes, you are in the right place. A new computer means all my programs aren’t currently installed which means a new header is takin’ some time. 

I woke up ravenous this morning and quickly came to the conclusion that pancakes were the only thing that would satisfy my growling stomach. I quickly assessed the food situation and decided to spice up my normal banana/egg pancakes with a little somethin’ extra. I was a little nervous to see how they turned out but they.were.perfect.

I feel like I’m being a copy cat by naming these pancakes Morning Glory Pancakes but is it me, or does every breakfast item with carrots become “Morning Glory”? I think so. I feel like I’ve definitely had different morning glory pancakes/muffins/waffles all including carrots. 

In not being sure what these would taste like, I took a terrible phone picture but I guess it’s better than nothing (maybe not actually…)

0.jpg

You Need:

1 ripe banana

Somewhere around 1/8 a cup of oats (less than a 1/4 cup..I just sprinkled)

1 egg plus 1 egg white

Half a carrot, shredded

Small handful raisins

1/2 tsp. cinnamon (more if you desire)

Sprinkle baking powder (I didn’t measure this. literally just sprinkled)

Drop of vanilla extract

1 tsp. coconut oil 

To Top:

Honey

Almond/Peanut Butter

To Make:

Mash up banana in a bowl, then add all other ingredients except for coconut oil. *The oats should give the batter more of a pancake-like consistency. You may need more or less depending on the size of your banana. I think it helps to skip measurements and just eye ball on this one.

Melt coconut oil in a pan over medium/medium low heat. When hot, place large spoonfuls of batter into the pan. Cook for about 4 minutes or until the edges begin to turn brown and bubbles form all over the pancake then flip and cook for another 3-4. 

Top with a drizzle of honey or dollop of nut butter (or both!) and dig in! 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

