A Whirlwind Weekend

In years and years, I honestly don’t think I have had a weekend as grand as the one I had last weekend. Honestly, I can’t stop thinking about it and I’m so thankful that my last “real” weekend of my undergraduate career was so great.

Saturday, I received an award for the scholarship I won four years ago. The scholarship that would allow me to attend my university and only pay for housing. I am so thankful for my mom who switched me from my neighborhood school to a magnet school where I would excel, for both my schools who created this great partnership and have allowed me to attend this great university for almost nothing. I am so, so lucky.

20130501-092755.jpg

That day and night, although I was apprehensive (this is how I get when I get anxiety), I went to a fun BBQ/party with my friends to celebrate the end. I am incredibly glad I went because I know I would have been really disappointed if I had chosen not to go for silly reasons.

20130501-092829.jpg

Sunday, I ran my first ever half marathon. My legs carried me the 13.1 miles without stopping to walk–something I’ve never done and honestly, wasn’t sure I could do. I ran a pretty decent time and was incredibly impressed seeing that I finished this half marathon a half-hour sooner than I finished a 20K (12.4 miles) in September. Almost a whole extra mile and I still shaved off that time. I trained hard for this and it definitely payed off and showed. I am capable of anything I put my mind to and have come so far in the last 1.5 years.

20130501-093336.jpg

(my pretty little street)

Monday, even though it’s not the weekend, I went apartment searching for when I go to grad school. I wasn’t sure I’d find one but sure enough, the first apartment we looked at was PERFECTION. It’s gorgeous and I literally couldn’t be more excited to have my own apartment and move in and live there. I could not have asked for a better turnout and I am so lucky.

One of the things my dad said to me yesterday when I texted him was “You might not have a lot of money, but you sure are rich”. This has never been truer than this weekend. I feel truly so lucky to be cared about by so many, to have the options I have and had, to not need and to be satisfied. The feeling I have right now is better than any amount of money I could ever have and for that, I am eternally grateful.

Leave a Reply

