What I Ate Wednesday (#1)

Today I’m linking up for What I Ate Wednesday over at Peas and Crayons.

If you’ve wondered where I’ve been for a few days, I was absent because I was shamelessly making batches of quinoa and using it in everything I could. New obsession. I’ve made granola with quinoa, dinner bowls of quinoa and breakfast parfaits with, you guessed it, quinoa. Yum.

Unfortunately, I was too busy eating to take pictures (except for a few) so instead, a run down of what I’ve consumed that’s new, delicious or interesting.

Still on the quest for muffins, I made Applesauce Almond Meal Muffins. Recipe with photo to come soon. They were tasty.

I’ve been on a Trader Joes Kick lately (i.e. I’ve been there twice in one week). Favorite new item: Kale and Spinach Greek Yogurt Dip. To die for. All the creamy dip goodness without all the creamy dip guilt. Also, their chocolate bars. Holy moly. Dark chocolate with caramel and sea salt and dark chocolate toffee with almonds have quickly become my new favorites.

(www.traderjoes.com)

Quinoa breakfast parfaits: Cook a serving of quinoa (1/4 cup dry) and let it cool. Sprinkle with cinnamon. Layer in a bowl or mason jar with plain greek yogurt, sliced apples or bananas and almonds in that order until everything is in a nice parfait. Top with a dollop of peanut butter and pour almond milk over the top. The quinoa gives a nice cereal texture while the yogurt becomes even creamier.

20130424-104932.jpg

(appetizing looking, no, tasty, absolutely! Of course the day I took a photo, it wasn’t a pretty parfait in a jar)

OH! and cottage cheese. My new favorite snack. Served with blueberries, applesauce, cinnamon and plain. Any suggestions? How do you eat it?

Other eats from this week:

photo.JPGphoto.JPGphoto.JPGphoto.JPGphoto.JPG

(left to right: latte in real cup at Starbucks, seared tuna (i took it off the crisp), the best sunflower seeds, quinoa dinner bowl, thai iced bubble tea)

2 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday (#1)

Leave a Reply

