A Day of Eating

When I haven’t seen people in a long time, they always say “wow, you must  really changed your eating and portions!” After I take away the small insult of that comment, I always answer them back with how I actually eat more now than I ever did, but how it has changed and definitely for the better.

I realized how much food really does fuel my body when I came back from my spring break cruise two weeks ago. After consuming foods I’m not so used to eating, I felt puffy from salt, sluggish and tired. I was definitely not myself.

Food is fuel. The body needs premium. 

My [Typical] Day of Eating:

Breakfast:

One glass of water

1 plain Greek yogurt with blueberries, cinnamon, coconut and 1 teaspoon of peanut butter and a tablespoon or so of homemade granola.

1/2 a grapefruit

1 cup of tea or coffee

Snack if needed:

Piece of fruit

Lunch:

1 medium-sized salad. Usually includes a hard boiled egg, spinach and veggies as well as a little cheese.

Apple with peanut butter or banana

Snack:

Orange and maybe some almonds 

Dinner:

Some type of protein (chicken, steak, turkey burger…)

2/3 of the plate filled with some kind of vegetable.

Extra:

I usually have some kind of chocolate at some point during the day. I love chocolate.

I’ve also realized that while I eat often (sometimes I eat more than 2 snacks…), I don’t think I’m eating enough actual food. Any suggestions at keeping relatively low-carb but adding in a few extra calories? 

 

Leave a Reply

