Mustard and Balsamic Glazed Brussels Sprouts

Before you even start reading, let me first apologize for another phone photo.

My whole life I stayed away from brussels sprouts. The evil little vegetables have certainly earned a bad rep by children (and adults) everywhere. I avoided them so much that I didn’t even know they were called brussels sprouts. I thought they were just brussel.

One day, a few months ago, I went for it and tasted my first sprout. I instantly fell in love and have been making brussels sprouts ever since.

Last night when I had some extra time I figured i’d roast some sprouts before they go bad and I turned out with a delicious side that I wish was a whole meal!

You’ll Need:

Brussels Sprouts (I buy a bag and just use a servings worth. They stay good for a while)

2 slices thick pepperoni (I used a stick and cut two slices off of that)

2 to 3 tablespoons olive oil

Salt and Pepper

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

2 tablespoons spicy brown mustard

Sprinkle of feta cheese

To Prepare:

Begin by preheating the oven to 425 degrees.

Next, cut the bottoms off of the brussels sprouts then slice in half. Place in a baking dish.

Cut pepperoni into small chunks and add to baking dish.

Drizzle olive oil over sprouts and pepperoni, sprinkle with salt and pepper and mix to combine.

Place in oven for about 25 minutes or until the sprouts are softer and have a darker coloring.

While the sprouts are in the oven, place the vinegar in a pot and cook over low heat. Stir occasionally until the vinegar reduces and becomes thick.

Heat mustard in the microwave or on the stove, then add to the reduced vinegar and mix well.

When the sprouts are done, drizzle with balsamic mustard glaze, mix, then sprinkle with feta cheese.

This dish is best when very hot! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

