Cauliflower Pizza

(Photo from my phone. This pizza was gone too quickly to take real pictures).

Sorry it’s been a little while. Returning to school has gotten the best of me these last 10 days.

While I’ve mentioned that I eat what I want, I have also talked about how I try to watch my carbohydrate intake, especially at dinner time. Luckily, my best friend does as well so we end up occasionally sharing meals and looking for recipes together.

When searching through Pinterest for food ideas, I stumbled upon a recipe for cauliflower pizza which immediately sounded appealing. It was low-carb and filled with veggies which meant almost nothing could be better.

I didn’t expect this pizza to be one of the best thing’s I’ve potentially ever eaten. Really. It was absolutely delicious.

Recipe is originally from Your Lighter Side. Toppings were of our choice.

You Need:

Crust:

2 cups of cauliflower mashed/cut very tiny (this was about 1/2 a large cauliflower)

2 eggs

2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

Salt, Pepper, Oregano, Parsley Flakes, Garlic Powder (these are you choice–a sprinkle of each is what I used)

Toppings:

Pizza Sauce

About a cup of mozzarella cheese

Pepperoni (sliced thin)

Few slices cooked turkey bacon

Sliced Mushrooms

 

To Make:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Begin the crust by making the cauliflower small. We used a Magic Bullet for this process and it worked very well. You could also use a food processor or blender. The cauliflower should almost look like mashed potatoes and the pieces should be about the size of a grain of rice.

Crack 2 eggs into a large bowl and mix so they are not separated.  Add cheese and cauliflower and mix well. Add in spices and mix again.

Grease either a round baking sheet (that you would make pizza on) or a small cookie sheet (like I used) and pour mixture out onto it. Using a fork, press the cauliflower mix down onto the sheet to make a flat crust. Ensure there are no holes or pieces that are much higher than others.

Place in oven and bake for 10 minutes. The sides will be golden brown.

Prepare toppings while the crust bakes.

Remove crust from oven and let sit for about 5 minutes.

Top with sauce, cheese and other desired toppings then place back in the oven for around 8 minutes or until the cheese melts.

Remove from oven and allow to sit for at least 5 minutes so that the crust can set.

Cut and enjoy!

While eating, my friend and I thought of a variety of toppings we’d like to try on this crust including:

Buffalo Chicken

Meatball+/ sausage

Peppers and Onions

BBQ Chicken

Philly Cheese steak

All would be absolutely delicious.

Leave a Reply

